Crystal Renn

Standard

My sisters and I have been discussing Crystal Renn’s book “Hungry” lately.  We all read it after reading Portai di Rossi’s memoir, which is called “Unbearable Lightness” (but should just be called “Unbearable”).

It’s interesting, reading memoirs about the struggles of image and eating, from different women with different perspectives.  These books have definitely been a springboard for important discussions between myself and the women in my life.

So when my roomate heard that we’d read “Hungry” and said, “You know, Crystal Renn is thin again”, it made me curious.

I googled.

She’s lost a lot of weight again, and is being criticized.  Again.

So in the following  interviews and videos, she tries to justify herself.  It’s kind of fascinating because she’s basically become a spokesperson for eating disorder awareness, whether she intended to or not.  And the attention doesn’t fall on the important issue, but rather on how she looks today.  I wonder what it’s like to have to rely on your looks for your livelihood.  I bet there are days when she doesn’t want to justify her looks to anyone anymore.  I’m not sure how I feel about it all…I just find it interesting that she’s in a no-win situation.   And that she chooses to stay there.  It must be hard.

then…

Crystal Renn, Glamour, May 2006

Renn for Gaultier, 2005

and now…

renn (left) for gaultier, 2010

harper's bazaar, december 2010

The article, along with several videos about her ups and downs (career- and weight-wise):

http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/size-model-crystal-renn-sheds-pounds-fuels-criticism/story?id=12867609

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

4 responses »

  1. I think the notion of ‘choice’ is an interesting one, because it assumes that one has not only options from which to choose, but more importantly (I believe) the power to make those decisions. I wonder if Renn’s experiences include feeling like she has the power to choose? Or if she really has any options? Looking back (and presently) at my own life, I’m aware that I claim the power to make/participate in many of my own decisions….and that is attributable to both privilege and the people in my life who love and support me.

  2. I’m not going to lie, when I saw that she was under scrutiny for her weight loss, I was kind of disappointed myself. Especially after reading her book, where she explains her journey of self-acceptance, it’s dis-heartening as a fan to see how she is looking more and more like one of those models whose whole image is unattainable and therefore, unrelatable. That being said, my feelings alone say a lot about the kind of pressure she must be under to stay a certain size. As long as there’s no “Hungry 2.0” in the future, she’s still amazing to me.

    ~a

  3. Pingback: Happy Blog-iversary, Sisters! by j « Weyward Sisters

  4. Pingback: I’m just as amazing as you - Rarely Wears Lipstick

Leave a comment