Sugar Rush, by j

Standard

Saturday night was my graduation party with my fellow students.  This is how it started:

double glasses

And then this is the last thing I remember:

shot

Apparently I made a lot of travel plans.

Anyways.

While I should have been writing papers, I decided to do something much more delicious.  Baking.

My lovely auntie was coming for a very exciting visit and emailed me a recipe with a demand: make this for me.

Usually I’m up for anything, but this particular request was a little terrifying.  You see, I’ve tried to make this before- and it was a disaster.  I haven’t tried since Thanksgiving 2003.  The failure was utterly devastating ten years ago.

You see, my aunt sent in a recipe for creme brulee.

Creme.  Brulee.

My absolute favourite thing ever in the world to eat for dessert.  I was given a torch for my birthday.  It was going to be amazing.  It was a soupy mess.  Even on my scale it was less than a 1.  It was a -10.  Inedible.

Tragic.

But, I do like this auntie.  And I did not want to disappoint.  And I was bored of writing about social enterprise.

So I went for it:  Coconut Creme Brulee.

ingredients cb

Here’s the tricky thing about this evil recipe: it only has four ingredients.  It appears incredible easy to make.

6 egg yolks

1/4 cup sugar

200 milliliters of whipping cream

200 milliliters of unsweetened coconut milk

Coconut flakes

8 tsp sugar

Totally easy.  Totally make-able.  Sign me up.  I could totally make French food better than any other pastry chef west of Paris.

I was determined.

sugar and eggs

custard wet

 

Cream sugar and egg yolks.  Perfect.

Make breakfast with left over egg whites.

Heat cream and coconut milk.  Don’t let that stuff boil.  Bad news.

Tidbit: Don’t buy “lite” coconut milk.  It’s a waste of money for basically watered down coconut milk.  Just water it down at home.

But don’t use “lite” coconut milk.  Also, don’t buy things that spell light wrong.

Then add in the hot cream mixture to the egg yolks.  Be careful.  The last time I tried doing this I made scrambled eggs, and was horrible.

Then get your mom’s ramekins and fill those suckers up.

before cooking in ram

At this point you have to learn from my mistake.  BE CAREFUL.  Don’t put the water in before you put it in the oven.  You will spill and you will be devastated.

Once it’s on the rack in the oven pour in some hot water from a kettle.  For you cosmopolitan folks this is called a “bain marie”.  Literally “Mary’s bath”, which according to cooking sources is described as “whose proverbial gentleness can be likened to the gentleness of this cooking technique”.  It is the holiest way to bake a dessert.  Baking like a virgin.

water into ram

Here’s the tricky part.  It said to cook it at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes.  Or until custard is set.  Here’s the problem I ran into, at 25 minutes it was still soupy.  It reminded me of my previous failure.  So I let it keep cooking for another 20 minutes.  Then I took it out.  I was terrified that I had ramekins full of scrambled eggs.

cooked cb before sugar

But at this step I feel as though I have committed.  No looking back- we’re going to the end.

When you bring them out, let them cool, and put them into the fridge, then carefully transport them to home.

And here’s where I decided to make some decisions on my own.  I personally hate when I have creme brulee and the custard is cold.  It doesn’t taste right, it needs to be room temperature, but creamy.  So I decided to take them out of the fridge about 30 minutes before I burned that sugar.

cb sugar before

Last time I did this I had a kitchen torch to use, but it is packed away.  This time I used the broiler to make it all nice and burnt.

cb sugar burnt

What the what?  It looks good.  But I was slightly terrified.  Let’s get some coconut toasted.

creme brulee

I was more than terrified to crack into it.  But I was delightfully surprised.

creme brulee inside

Not bad.  If I had to critique my own it would definitely be a huge improvement from the last time.  It would be at least a solid 5/10.  We could improve it.  But at least it wasn’t a soupy mess.

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

Leave a Reply

