My Christmas List, by a

Standard

“It’s the most wonderful time of the year…” It’s the holiday season once again (not soon enough, in my opinion) and as I’m sitting here watching Christmas movies, I thought I would compile a list of my very favourite things that make Christmas my absolute favourite time of the year. So here it goes, in no particular order..

1) The Santa Clause-

This Tim Allen classic makes me all warm and fuzzy inside. The story is realistic and heart warming, and the humour still cracks me up to this day. I love when you watch movies as an adult and you catch all the jokes that you never understood as a kid. Case in point, “Dad, you’re flying!”…”It’s okay, I lived through the 60’s”.

2) Shortbread

This is probably one of my favourite holiday treats, aside from peppermint hot chocolate and frozen After Eights. I even honour my Mother’s absurd claim that shortbread needs to “rest” for a period of a few weeks before they’re ready to enjoy. It’s a cruel joke, I say!

3) The (Real) Christmas Tree

This might be obvious, as something that I really enjoy about Christmas but honestly, the season would not be the same without a real tree. I love dragging it in the house and struggling to erect it on the tree stand. I love getting a tree branch to the eye every time I hunker down to water it, too. I also silently judge the other houses who have trees prominently displayed in their picture windows on November 25th. YOU ARE NOT REALLLL!

4) Elf

Ever since I saw this (now) holiday classic in theatres 3 times back in 2003, it has become one of my favourites. It’s Will Ferrell + Zooey Deschanel +Christmas, what could be better?

5)Snow

Nope, not the beloved 90s white reggae artist, but the white fluffy stuff that is supposed to come around Christmas. Although we haven’t had snow at Christmas for the past few years, I seem to keep developing a mental block about it and therefore always get upset when there is still nothing, come Christmas morn.

I also love love the cold- my family thinks it’s weird, but I LOVE it.

6) National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation

Despite the fact that I’ve heard all the horrible things about Chevy Chase in real life, this movie still remains one of favourites.

7) Family

I’m pretty lucky to have a family that’s nice to each other and to have siblings who love each other, so I always look forward to spending time with them at Christmas- a time when they can’t moan and groan about snuggling and watching movies because we only HAVE A LIMITED AMOUNT OF TIME TOGETHER, PEOPLE.

So Merry Christmas, one and all!!

 

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

One response »

  1. You haven’t felt “cold” until your car engine turns half a turn, and refuses to go any further. When it finally warms up to -35C by noon hour, and your car starts you get a pie hole space out the window that you can see through, and when you finally drive away the tires are not round. After about 5 kilometres of thumping on “square tires”, your transmission finally decides (t a speed of 80 km/h) to shift from second gear to third (thank Gaawd we did not have tachometers in those days). Oh yeah – you also get no electric butt warmers, so you feel like you are sitting on a bag of frozen cement.
    So .. I think you should go and visit Maggie at the end of January. Too bad the global warming effect has made everyone’s winters milder!

Leave a Reply

