Pulled Pork and Mini Cakes! by, m

Standard

We’ve been celebrating a birthday around here for the last week or so! We’ve had visitors, camping trips, bbqs, parties and delicious meals.

I was able to trade a Saturday evening shift for a lunch one (I know, I know, I gave up a lot of tips!) so that I could make a special B-Day dinner as part of the festivities.

I made pulled pork in the slow cooker, which turned out to be SO EASY. And cost-effective! I went to the butcher and asked for a pork shoulder roast between 3 and 4 lbs (the one I got was boneless, but bone-in works, too).  On Saturday morning, I put the roast in the slow cooker after rubbing it with salt and pepper.  Here’s what I added:

-1/2 cup dry white wine

-1 onion, chopped

-4 cloves garlic, minced

I put the slow cooker on low for 8 hours. Then, I took the roast out and shredded it with two forks:

This recipe is a definite keeper. The roast itself was less than $15 and will last us for at least half a dozen meals.  So far, we’ve had pulled pork and pesto penne with fresh tomatoes, and pulled pork sandwiches.  Before the week is up, I plan on making pulled pork nachos, and pulled pork pizza on the bbq.

While it may sound like overkill, we don’t seem to be getting sick of the mounds of pork yet!

I also made a mini cake on Saturday. I used this recipe, and made butter cream frosting.  I don’t have an electric mixer, so I count this as my upper-body workout for the week. I got a few mini cake pans and over filled them, so the batter poured into the bottom of the oven as the cakes were baking, making the whole house smell like burning. These are the kind of tricks I like to pull to lower people’s expectations of my cooking: maybe if they enter a house that smells like burnt food they’ll think, “Brace  yourself, taste buds, this is going to be gross”. But then, they eat the food (which is  actually burnt less and less often these days) and they are pleasantly surprised.  Other tricks include, but are not limited to:

-misshapen but delicious loaves of bread

-exploded homemade pizza pockets, and

-gourmet cakes that look like they were decorated by a 5-year-old…

mini cake

Yum-0!

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

One response »

Leave a Reply

