In School and Liking it! by, a

Standard

Well, today commenced the second week of full time classes at Western’s Continuing Studies. So far everything has been wonderful, if slightly overwhelming, but first weeks tend to go that way.

Today I had my Introduction to the Arts Class, as well as my Strategic Leadership class. So far, Intro seems to be a basic review of a lot of the material I learned over the years in my Art History classes, but it’s nice to get a refresher just the same.

My leadership class is one that I think I’m going to get a lot of insight out of. For example, today’s class was all about “understanding who you are” and how it’s critical if you’re going to be an effective leader. Homework for this class is some self-reflective exercises which I think are going to be pretty neat. I have to say, it’s going to be difficult, but ultimately pretty cool to focus on my strengths and how to build on them, instead of honing in on my weaknesses and approaching everything from a “what I can’t do” perspective.

After these two classes today, the class trekked it down to Museum London, where we met with the Executive Director, Brian Meehan. It was really neat to be able to meet him and ask questions- he was super open and friendly. After introductions, he actually took us on a tour of some of the vaults of the museum. This is where they house all of the paintings and artifacts not on display.

In one of the vaults there were rows upon rows of artifacts that did not have a home- it felt like a museum in itself. My favourite area was where all of the old steam trunks were- I loved seeing the owner’s initials on them; very eerie, but so cool! In another vault that housed artwork, Brian actually looked through the archived paintings (it kind of felt like the art room in high school; organized, but not in a crazy sterile, classified information government way) and non-chalantly pulled out a small framed Group of Seven painting. No big deal. Just sittin’ back there.

I really really enjoyed being able to look behind the curtain on this tour. It was the first time I actually got to see behind the scenes of an arts organization and it’s intrigued me even more. That kind of rhymed and I didn’t even mean it to.

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

One response »

  1. I’d like to come behind the scenes with you when you work at fashion week/TIFF/the ROM/etc. Unless you choose to work at the hockey hall of fame. Then I won’t really care as much.
    SO exciting!!!
    ~m

Leave a Reply

