An open letter to dog owners, by A

Standard

Dear general Canadian population of dog owners,

Hi, my name is A and I would like to preface this letter my saying that I do not hate dogs or animals. I do however, strongly dislike dog owners who treat public property like their own personal meadow in which to unleash their animal so they can pull a Julie Andrews a la Sound of Music, and run around to their heart’s content.

Image

In the last month alone, I’ve encountered a couple of situations with dogs and their respective owners that make me want to run up to any man/man’s best friend combo on the street and say, “Do you have your shit together? Do you? Then and only then, may you proceed”.

Just a few weeks a go, I was doing some stretching in a park near my house, have the ear buds in, doing my thing, when out of nowhere, this large dog comes barreling towards me, barking, nips at my heels and then speeds of again. No lie, this happened THREE times before I decided that I had to leave (more on account of the fact that I was so startled that I may or may not have peed myself). And what were the owners of this lovely dog doing? I’ll give you a hint: it didn’t involve an apology or a freaking LEASH.

I can’t tell you how upset I was by this incident. Dog owners: You might think/know your sweet little Princess Cuppycake is a well behaved animal who would never hurt anyone, but I, the complete stranger that your animal is running toward, DO NOT. If it’s not a dog park, keep your animal on a leash- I really don’t think that’s too much to ask.

On a related note, by leash, I don’t mean those ridiculous extend-a-leashes where you can technically say you have your dog on a leash, but in reality they’re about 500ft away from you. I don’t even know why these exist.

The other incident I was faced with came just the other day, when I was out for a nice jog at the local track. Now, I’ve gone to this place many a time and always put down my water bottle on a bench right next to the track. So I’m doing my thing and warming down, when I see an old man walking in with his large dog in tow. Then out of the corner of my eye, I see that the old man is peering at my bottle of water and quickly picks it up. Would I have been closer (I was on the complete opposite side of the field), I probably would have said something, but in the moment, I didn’t. It was at this time that he actually takes my water and THROWS IT TO HIS DOG TO FETCH. I stared as his behemoth of a dog, who pounces on my only means of hydration and chomps on it for a period of time.

I can’t even begin to tell you. Look the hell around you! Don’t pick things up that aren’t yours, never mind using them as a chew toy for your animal. I understand that your dog needs exercise, but also understand that the entire planet is not your playground with which to do whatever the hell you want.

I’ll finish this letter by saying that I know the majority of dog owners are not in the least as inconsiderate as the two incidences that I experienced, but never the less, please, respect others around you who are trying to enjoy the outdoors as much as you are.

And if not, prepare for high kick to the neutered zone.

Sincerely,

Animal-liker who wants you to get a grip.

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

One response »

  1. Pingback: An Open Letter to Those Who Dine Out, by m « Weyward Sisters

Leave a Reply

