Quinoa Adventures Part 2, by j

Standard

Day one of being the only sister not in FF. Yesterday A left on a jet plane for the great north (or about as north as you want to go) to visit M and FFD. And I’m here. Alone.

Sad, but for an exciting reason- I start my second internship (unpaid of course) tomorrow. Slightly nervous? Absolutely.

So to console myself I cleaned like I’ve never before. And I cooked up some quinoa. After reading about quinoa over at the lovely “The Muddy KItchen” and I was inspired.

And so I started a couple of attempts at quinoa.

So here’s the first attempt – Red Quinoa and Black Bean Salad with Fresh Corn.

Why this recipe? I love black beans. A lot. There’s lime in it. Yum. And fresh corn is in season.

I will even go as far to say that this is the PERFECT SUMMER SALAD.

Why red quinoa? I don’t know, for kicks? It has a slightly “earthier” taste than its pale sister. When I read that I thought, “that’s just a fancy way of saying it tastes like dirt”. After cooking it up I can’t tell the difference.

Here’s what you’ll need:

1 cup of quinoa
2 cups of salt free chicken stock
1 can of black beans,drained
1 red pepper,diced
1/4 cup of cilantro, minced
1 1/4 cups of fresh corn
2 green onions, sliced

Dressing
Juice of two limes
1/2 tsp of salt
1/2 tsp of black pepper
1/2 tsp of cumin
1/4 cup of cilantro, minced
1 clove of garlic
1/4 cup of olive oil

20120826-173203.jpg

I cooked the red quinoa (after rinsing the heck out of it) in chicken stock. Sure, it then can’t be vegan. But I don’t care. Vegans are irritating. As a rule.

After that, we had to cook that fresh corn, which was interesting.

20120826-173507.jpg

While the quinoa was cooking, I chopped everything else up:

20120826-173625.jpg

Then I whisked all the dressing ingredients together.

20120826-174057.jpg

After that, I added in the red quinoa to the veggies, and tossed in the dressing. The good part? You don’t have to wait for the quinoa to cool completely. Woot!

The original recipe also calls for avocado, but I didn’t see any avocados that weren’t hard enough to land someone unconscious if thrown. As well, if you don’t have fresh corn, don’t do the corn. It will not turn out.

Final tip? Cook your quinoa in chicken stock! It is sooooo much tastier. Yes, yes. I know, vegans. But again, who cares?

Serve it at room temp, and then put it in the fridge to have for the week!

Tada!

20120826-174337.jpg

Enjoy the arty picture –

20120826-174719.jpg

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

One response »

Leave a Reply

