Job Hunting and Other Skills, by m

Standard

Today I had WHIMIS training at 8:30 AM at my new serving job.  Blech. And the worst part was, I showed up on time and they didn’t start the damn PowerPoint until 9AM.  If you’re going to ask me to be there so early, at least do me the courtesy of starting on time.

Then at 1PM, I had an interview to get on the supply teaching list for the Catholic board. I think it went well…for the most part (*edit*: I had originally posted a transcript here of the events in question, then removed them…if you’re curious, I can message you the embarrassing details privately, without offending anyone).

Then, at 3;45, I went for an interview at a local law firm.  I didn’t know what the job was for, I’d simply responded to an ad in the paper for a full-time position. When I arrived,  I was told to do a typing test and was then told that I have above-average typing skills . That’s about all I gleaned from the interview.  I still don’t understand what the job is.

I also found this cabinet in one of our sheds that I want to refinish!  I’ve never refinished anything, but I decided this is a good piece to start with because it was free and FFD didn’t even know it existed (so if I mess it up, he won’t notice it disappears, right?). He’s away for the night on a camping expedition, so I used several screw drivers incorrectly to dismount it from the shed wall, and then I threw it on the grass, and took enthusiastic ‘before’ pictures of it…it’s still outside in the grass, in case anyone is wondering.

I’m still amazed at how much one can get done in a single day in a small town!

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

3 responses »

  1. Aww what a great cabinet. Can’t wait to see it all finished up when I visit!!!!!
    miss you. I’m sure you did well on all your interviews!!!!

Leave a Reply

