The Last 2 Days of my 20s, by j

Standard

The day is fast approaching, the end of my 20s.  I’ve been getting quite a few inquiries of folks doing the old “head tilt” and asking me how I feel about my upcoming 30th birthday.

Am I right to be frustrated with the implication that I have to have to be brokenhearted about turning thirty?  Because the next person to ask me “how I’m doing” with turning 30 is going to get a mouthful.

It’s like when I’m at school and people ask me “how I’m coping” with school work.  What they’re looking for is someone to be miserable with.  In reality, I’m dealing with everything quite well.  No real stress.  It’s almost as if going to school is like having a job.

So, as I approach Friday I’m reflecting (I’m getting really good at that) on the past decade.  Here are the things that I’ve done in the past decade:

– Graduated university & college

– Traveled to Australia, Scotland, Poland (and paid for most of it all myself)

– Moved out

– Moved home

– Got into grad school

– Got my first job

– Got my first car (paid for by me!)

– Held a koala

– Decided I hate animals

– Published a book (thanks Aunty)

– Made some new friends

– Got rid of some shitty ones

– Met and worked with some pretty cool people (Sheldon Kennedy, I’m looking at you)

– Trekked out to Newfoundland

– Developed a pretty solid dislike for the British monarchy

– Protested in Australia, US and Canada

– Said goodbye to some lovelies in my life

– Tried Zumba and Yoga (well, as of Thursday)

Not too bad.

Bring on the next decade.

Image

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

One response »

  1. Happy Birthday Jess!! Wish I was there to help you celebrate. You’ll have to wait for your birthday present — I’ll hand deliver it to you in August.

Leave a Reply

