Big City, Small Budget (by, m)

Standard

This is a post that has the potential to become a weekly (if not hourly) chronicle of my life lately: how I’m surviving in the most expensive city in the world on half my usual income.

I was walking down  Bloor Street the other day, and realized that something ironic is happening. Sonic Boom, one of the few surviving music stores, recently moved out of its old location near Bathurst and Bloor and moved into the lower level of Honest Ed’s. This is great because it’s fun to support Honest Ed’s (since it’s a part of Toronto’s history), by paying rent to them and increasing traffic in the building (not that the Mirvish empire is suffering, by any means, but I digress…).  So then, since Sonic Boom left a huge piece of real estate empty  just down the street from Honest Ed’s, everyone in the neighbourhood knew something big was about to move in.

Well guess what? Dollarama is moving into the Annex!  And here’s the irony (if I’m clear on what” irony” means, since I’m still confused by the Alanis song): Dollarama is going to be Honest Ed’s biggest competition! Yikes, Sonic Boom, bad move.

So, now I feel torn: I’ve been shopping at Honest Ed’s a LOT since the summer…but the $6 can opener I bought there is already rusted and broken. Maybe shopping local is for rich people, and it’s time I replaced that pricey can opener with one from mega corporation Dollarama, as it may only cost me $2.  Besides, I have been a Dollarama patron for longer than I’ve lived in the big city. I’ve often taken little A there, and everytime I tell her that she can choose ONE THING, and I will buy it for her (because I am a good big sister).

And as a teacher, well…today’s finds speak for themselves:

Cute timers for "time outs"!

Bilingual books for $1.25 each? ARE YOU SERIOUS DOLLARAMA?!

Dollarama: 1

Honest Ed’s: 0

P.S.: [first world problem] I bought a bag of dried chickpeas, because it seemed like there was more in the bag than in the can, and they were cheaper. Do I have to rehydrate them if I’m going to add them to a sauce, or no?

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

One response »

  1. yes you have to rehydrate them or you will have lots of little hard things in your sauce. Put them in a pan and cover with lots of water and leave them to soak all day or overnight (8 hours or so). Drain the water and put in freshh, bring to a boil and simmer for 45 minutes. Then use them any way you want. You will love them – the texture is way nicer than canned and as you point out, they are waaaa-aaay cheaper too!

Leave a Reply

