Welcome to the Boys’ Club: A girl’s point of view during the golf season, by a

Standard

The air is warm,the  grass is cut and all over North America the sound of emerging sock tans can be heard. This means golf season is upon us and as a player, I’m excited. There really isn’t a better summer activity than playing on a course with your friends (unless it’s 44 degrees outside, as I learned yesterday; still had fun, however I shall liken it to being on the surface of the sun). And ohh, the tan lines. Not just the aforementioned socks, but farmers tan and even v-neck tan, from where your collared shirt gapes at the front (personal favourite).

There is plenty good about this time of year, though having played since I was 13, I have since picked up on several things that make the golf season tricky to navigate for a young woman.

1) The clothes. Ohh the clothes. I appreciate that the majority of the golf demographic is either male or over the age of 50, but really. I’m just waiting for the day when the starter asks my (male) friends and I, “So how are you boys doing today?”. Unflattering bermudas and collared shirts are my enemy, yet they seem to be my only option. What irony that while I have to succumb to the evils of ladies golf wear, the course is usually teeming with good looking eligible bachelors. There is hope on the horizon however, as designers are recognizing the lack of fashionable pieces for women. Designers like these are creating fashion forward looks for women on the course. I don’t know how practical these pieces would be if you would like to make par or even sweat a little, but hey, it’s a start!

2) If you are a lady, you better be good. Because I like to play the game, I find that I am constantly trying to prove myself, as I receive one of two reactions when I am on the course. 1- They expect you to be good and (usually) get really excited, thus pressure to perform, and 2- They either feel threatened or want nothing to do with you. The latter I am happy to say I have not had to experience a whole lot in recent years, as I usually play with the same group of friends, but my oh my pair a 15 boy who has yet to reach puberty with a girl and it’s like you’ve done the worst thing. Makes for a a fun four hours.

3) Testosterone overload. I love my friends. They are a blast to play with and we have a great time. However, it’s going to be a long 30 years if I have to wait that long to even see another girl my age on the golf course. This excludes the pretty girls they always put at the front desk, or the overly flirtatious beer cart-girl, to whom I would just love to say, “Really?”. Although that may have to do with the fact that I look like a man in my golf attire and am thus resentful–see point number 1.

All in all, I’m looking forward to this upcoming golf season (and using my sweet new set of clubs, thanks dad!) and if you see a pink ball, don’t touch it, it’s mine!

 

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

2 responses »

  1. just think of the changes you’ve witnessed in the last ten years- your golfing excellence notwithstanding I think you have a couple of tophies for female golf champ and yet you endured playing with boys only – so I know you are blazing a path for all those younter girls…maybe one of them will be someone who designs cute golf wear that you can sweat in. And aanyone who mistakes you for a guy- golf wear or not- is IMHO, nuts.

Leave a Reply

