i did it! by m

Standard

I ate the chicken!

Not the whole chicken, but a little bit of it.

And that went well, because my mom made it, and she can cook.   But then I found myself in the grocery store yesterday, realizing that I have never, in all of my adult life, bought meat.   There was boneless, skinless, free range, organic, different parts, different cuts, some were frozen, some were fresh, some were air-chilled (wtf?) and others were grain-fed (what else would they be eating?).  I have no association with PETA, though I’d prefer eating something that wasn’t tortured.

I didn’t really know where to start and accidentally ended up buying chicken thighs which, when cooked, take on a gorgeous grayish-brown colour.

So please, pass on your recipes before I disgust myself back into vegetarianism.

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

5 responses »

  1. Definitely buy fresh — I like chicken breasts best — and free range or organic but you will probably pay more. I’ll send you some meat recipes.

  2. I always buy skinless, boneless chicken breasts (the most expensive). Sometimes, if I’m lazy, I’ll get the ones that are already cut into pieces (then you can avoid the disgustingness of actually having to cut up the chicken). Stir-fry: throw in chunks of chicken onto oiled/non-stick pan, fry until ‘sealed’ (till the outside is white but the inside is still chicken-y), put in tons of veggies, add whatever delicious flavour you want (store-bought or spices you mix yourself) and serve over rice. Mmmm. Also, you can make chicken soup. Or slow-cook it for meals for all week. I think I’m hungry for chicken. . . .

Leave a Reply

