Here’s to unchecking my “student” status; now filling in the “who the heck knows?” box (I hope they have one of those), by a

Standard

I’m aliveeeee! Having just completed by last ever undergrad examination period, I can now say that I, “A”, am no longer defined by the “student” label that I have worn for the last 16 or so years. Yep, this calls for a cocktail of anxiety with a twist of panic. And a swizzle stick of denial. And maybe a cherry coated with uncertainty. Mmm, those are the best.

Apologies for not having posted in a while. 5 exams in 6 days..yeah no thanks. However, I have  come through on the other side liberated, relieved, and maybe with a stomach ulcer or two. Here are the things that have been going on during my brief hiatus…

1) Hockey Playoffs begin!!

My beloved Pens have made it into the postseason once again, but may I just say-people, stop making a big deal about this feat due to the abscence of Sid and Geno. Yes, they’re two of the most popular faces of the franchise and Crosby already had over 30 goals before his head boo boo, but let’s give the rest of the team some more credit. Having won 2 out of their last 3 games during their series with Tampa Bay, I’m super pumped to see what’s going down. And that would be Tampa. Zing!

2) Extreme Couponing

This new reality show on TLC follows extremely “frugal” (in this case, synonymous with cheap, crazy, bored, greedy) individuals who take clipping coupons to the next level. I would not want to be perusing the grocery store aisle at the same time as these people. I picture it being very similar to a roller derby match, during which the inexperienced and weak individual gets elbowed in the eardrum by a take-no-prisoners executioner named Helga.

Purchases upwards of thousands of dollars are whittled down to a few bucks and then stored in a converted garage that any experienced hoarder would envy. I think these coupon-ers know something we don’t. Why are you stocking up for the freaking apocalypse? What are 300 bottles of hand soap going to do for you in any type of natural disaster? This show is even better when viewing with J, whose head may explode during any one episode.

3)LG Fashion Week

For my b-day pressie, M took me to see Ryerson grad Amanda Lew Kee’s show in Toronto. Fashion on the runway, not so good. Atmosphere and people watching, phenomenal. And also, creeped on Scott Moir and Tessa Virtue, Canada’s ice dancing gold medalists. M really did not indulge my embarassing squeals. How dare she mention that I go up and introduce myself?! I’d rather act like I’m on safari, watching the animals in their natural habitat.

About weywardsisters

The Three Weyward Sisters first appeared in Shakespeare’s “Macbeth”. It turns out we have more in common with these “weird” sisters than we thought. In the Shakespeare play the sisters represent darkness, chaos and conflict. We’ll leave it up to you to decide which of us represents each. They also usually show up to mark impending doom. Well, we certainly hope that our presence on this little corner of the Interwebs doesn’t mean impending doom for anyone. However, we find our commonalities with the witches in other ways. To be weyward means to be willful, disobedient and to turn away from what is “right or proper”. Those who know us would whole heartedly agree – we are three weyward sisters. We are three headstrong, stubborn (some more than others), obstinate and willful sisters. Read at your own risk.

4 responses »

  1. Can you give me any juicy details on Tessa Virtue and Scott Moir? Are they really close off camera? I imagine them being so .. 🙂

  2. No real juicy details to report Sarah:( They seemed pretty well as I imagined they would be as well. They stayed together most of the night it seemed and were very friendly to people who had the guts to walk over to them!
    ~a

Leave a Reply

